Ivy League At The NCAA Tournament

Minnesota left wing KYLE RAU (7), the homegrown sophomore from Eden Prairie who was tabbed by the Florida Panthers in the third round (# 91 overall) of the 2011 National Hockey League Draft, focuses on the rolling puck with hustling Yale left wing KENNY AGOSTINO (18), the high-scoring junior from Flanders, New Jersey, who was taken by the Pittsburgh Penguins in the fifth round (# 140 overall) of the 2010 NHL Draft, in pursuit close behind during the riveting overtime contest at the Van Andel Arena in Grand Rapids, Michigan, that served as the first West Regional Semifinal of the 2013 NCAA men’s ice hockey tournament.

Ivy League school’s have been sending representatives to compete for collegiate supremacy with the little piece of vulcanized rubber ever since the NCAA men’s ice hockey tournament was initially staged sixty-five years ago back in 1948. Despite falling short of the national championship title, itself, DARTMOUTH, BROWN and YALE all reached the Frozen Four in the first five years of the NCAA tournament’s existence. Traditionally speaking, though, it is CORNELL and HARVARD who have been the most successful skating in college hockey’s national arena.


HARVARD ………. 21 appearances (2006) …. won 14 … lost 29
CORNELL ………. 19 appearances (2012) …. won 18 … lost 20
YALE ……………… 6 appearances (2013) …… won 7 ….. lost 5
DARTMOUTH ……. 4 appearances (1980) …… won 4 ….. lost 4
BROWN …………… 4 appearances (1993) …… won 2 ….. lost 5
PRINCETON ……… 3 appearances (2009) …… won 0 ….. lost 3

(most recent appearance in parenthesis)

Buoyed by the outstanding play of KEN DRYDEN, the future Hockey Hall of Fame goaltender for the Montreal Canadiens who was chosen as First Team (East) All-America that year, it was CORNELL in 1967 that was the first Ivy League school to celebrate a national championship title. Even without the likes of Dryden, the powerful Big Red still went on to capture a second NCAA crown a few years later in 1970. Led by United States Olympic veteran LANE MCDONALD, the winner of the Hobey Baker Award as the nation’s top collegiate hockey player that season, the HARVARD Crimson followed suit a little more than two decades later and surprisingly won the NCAA men’s ice hockey tournament in 1989.

Indeed, the YALE Bulldogs have now earned their full membership in a very exclusive Ivy League club …


Harvard right wing ED KRAYER (11), the homegrown senior from Acton, Massachusetts, who was selected in the eighth round (# 158 overall) of the 1985 NHL Draft by the New Jersey Devils but never did skate in the crack National Hockey League, slips a rebound backhander underneath Minnesota netminder ROBB STAUBER (1), the sixth round pick (# 107 overall) of the Los Angeles Kings at the 1986 NHL Draft who had been selected as First Team (West) All-America as well as honored as the winner of the prestigious Hobey Baker Award in 1988, and scores the deciding goal in overtime at the old Civic Center in St. Paul as the Crimson dramatically upend the heavily-favored Gophers 4-3 in the memorable championship match of the 1989 NCAA men’s ice hockey tournament.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.